30 Day Doctor Who Challenge – Day 3: Least favourite companion

This is quite a tough one because there’s nobody I’ve absolutely loathed all the time they were in the TARDIS. At the start, I absolutely could not stand Mickey, but he proved himself in the end, up to a point. I doubt he’d get away with treating Martha like his possession the way he did Rose at the beginning. I also never got the way he felt threatened by Captain Jack but not by the Doctor – although maybe, given the relationship she had with Ten, he knew her better than I gave him credit for.

I tried very hard not to like Leela. Apart from anything else, she wasn’t Sarah Jane, but, although I didn’t understand it at the time, there was clearly a very severe dose of patriarchy behind going from a companion who wore stripy dungarees to one who wore next to nothing with boots.I liked the character, though and Louise Jamieson is such a good actress. Similarly, much though it is annoying that Liz Shaw was replaced by ditsy blonde Jo Grant, I couldn’t help but like Katy Manning – and without her there would have been no Sarah Jane Adventures Death of the Doctor.

I think I will stick with Mickey as being my least favourite, but don’t take that for unreserved dislike.

About caronlindsay

Scottish Lib Dem pro UK activist, mum, Doctor Who, Strictly, F1 and trashy tv addict and blogger.
This entry was posted in Doctor Who 30 day challenge, jo grant, katy manning, leela, louise jamieson, mickey. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 30 Day Doctor Who Challenge – Day 3: Least favourite companion

  1. David Watts says:

    Worst companion has to be Bonnie Langford, I think her character was called Mel. She replaced the truly wonderful Perri, who I could have watched all day. It didn't help Mel that she was paired wih Colin Baker, naff scripts and cardboard sets.

    Like

  2. Anonymous says:

    A fairly easy decision for me – Mel Bush (aka Bonnie Langford).

    Like

Leave a Reply

