#349 – #345 to 50

It’s been a busy few days. Time to catch up on the next instalment of my quest to take one photo a day during the last year of my 40s.

#349

IMG_8353

There are so many photos I could choose from today. There was the hot and sunny high tide walk at Rosemarkie Beach. Finding Bob and Hazel all snuggle dup on the grass outside the cottage. The walk in the Ness Islands while the kids went shopping and Bob visited Auntie Patsy. But this one is spectacular. Taken at sunset in Cromarty, it is beautiful and heartbreaking at the same time. There were so many more rigs than there had been before, each representing hundreds of jobs gone.

#348

IMG_8364

Today, I came to this gorgeous, peaceful spot, lay down on my beach towel like I was in the Med somewhere and read Harry Potter and the Cursed Child. It was bliss.

The family came to join me for lunch at the excellent community run Rosemarkie Beach cafe. They make the best Coronation Chicken sandwiches. I had a mooch round the free exhibition. On one wall, they have a collection of drawings by a 97 year old resident depicting what Rosemarkie was like when she was young. A new one had been added the day before.

We then had an impromptu shopping trip to Inverness before returning to the beach so that the kids could get in the sea. It was marvellous to watch them so happy.

#347

IMG_8373

I don’t think I need to explain why I was ok with Hazel getting me out of bed at 6 in the morning to be let out, do I?

Thursday was busy – two trips into Inverness. One to take back an item of shopping from yesterday, one to see my sister and pick up my nephew Ethan from his first day at nursery. My niece Aimee had her first day at high school in a brand new school which had only just been finished. She’d had an extra couple of days’ holiday.

The kids went for another dip in the sea on the way home and we had a curry.

#346

IMG_8424

I know you are probably fed up with this beach, but I never will be so you are just going to have to put up with it some more.

The weather changed in between the morning walk with the dog (roasting) and the afternoon walk with the dog (freezing).

We’d spent the day chilling at the cottage. I took the kids to Cromarty for afternoon tea at The Pantry. That is a great wee tea room. You always need to mot be in a hurry as the service is usually slow and on this occasion was even more chaotic as they were under-staffed. They were very busy and ran out of virtually all the components of afternoon tea so I had to settle for a sandwich and a cake. It was delicious, though.

#345

IMG_8429

Just when you think you have seen this beach every which way, it throws up something new. Saturday morning’s farewell present was a moody, atmospheric walk as the mist hung low at one of the lowest tides of the year.

Hazel met a friend of hers – a Welsh Springer spaniel called Roy whom we’d met on our last walk of our Easter holiday when he was just 6 months old.

Then, sadly, it was time to leave our beautiful Black Isle until the next time.

About caronlindsay

Scottish Lib Dem pro UK activist, mum, Doctor Who, Strictly, F1 and trashy tv addict and blogger.
This entry was posted in #365 to 50, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

